One Day at a Time

I know I have been on social media less frequently, but honestly most days I just don’t have the energy for it. But I am feeling pretty good today, so I wanted to update you on how I’ve been.

I’ve been in hospice care for a few weeks now, and I am thankful for my team who work hard to keep me as comfortable as possible. My energy level is pretty much zero most days, and walking has becoming too exhausting. At this time, I’m pretty much bedbound; I have not left my room since Wednesday. Fortunately, hospice set me up with all of the equipment I need. I am still able to stand and take a step over to my bedside toilet on my own when I need to use the restroom, so I’m glad about that. I’m still able to take care of my ostomy myself as well. My amazing aide gives me the most relaxing bed baths ever every Mon. and Thurs., and I always look forward to that.

I have been working through some constipation and abdominal cramping, which is not surprising considering the drugs I am on. I am getting close to finding the right combo of stool softeners, Senna, and Miralax to keep things moving without blowing up my bag. That would be no bueno! πŸ’© So I am hoping next week will be better than last. I’ve had some tumor pain, but my meds for breakthrough pain kick in pretty quickly. I’m also on oxygen because my levels have been low, and low oxygen can zap your energy pretty quickly, and I have none to spare. I haven’t had any issues at all and sometimes forget it’s on.

The good news is that if I have to be in a bed the rest of my life and be in one room, this one is about as cozy as it gets. It is a little surreal to be living in my parents’ dining room – something I never pictured when we had thanksgiving meals in here as a kid! – but Pops has helped me transform the room into my own comfy oasis. There are curtains on the doorways for privacy, blackout curtains on the window whenever I need to nap during the day, and I’ve decorated with pictures and items that mean a lot to me. I am very comfortable and find a lot of peace here.

My Pops should win human of the year award. I can do very little for myself anymore, and he attends to my every need without a single complaint. I am so fortunate to have him.

Sundays have been designated as Myrick family days, and I cherish the time I get with my brother and sister-in-law and my niece and nephew. I want to soak up all the family time I can while I feel good enough.

Thank you for all of your cards, texts, FB messages…they make me smile and are so appreciated. Please know if I don’t write you back right away, I’m not ignoring you, but some days are better than others.

I did the best I could to take a few pics of my room for you from my bed!! Hope you enjoy them. You’ll see that Eason has been a great cuddler!

I hope you are all well, my friends! I love you! ❀️

Peg

9 thoughts on “One Day at a Time

  1. You’re positively and spirit are amazing. I know you have made me look at things in a different light and have impacted my life in such a positive way. I know that you have made such a positive impact on so many people and their lives. We are all better for having you in our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You inspire me every day to take time to say I love you to my people and notice the tiny things. Also that’s the best dining room/bedroom ever. Sending love and all that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You continue to inspire me each day. Thank you for your wisdom as so many of us are walking this journey. I often think β€˜what would Peg do?’ Your words help me navigate that.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for sharing! Love your smile through the journey. You are beautiful inside and out! I think your Dad is awesome too!
    I’m praying for you 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You have made this world a better place . Those who’s lives you touch will always remember . Love and prayers to you and your family.

    Like

Leave a comment